The results of quartets selection for  MERITA – where chamber Music, hERitage and TAlent meet – are now online!

The 38 professional string quartets have been selected by the Artistic Committee among 61 applications received from 27 different countries and they will now have the opportunity to take part in MERITA activities!


ADAM Quartet
Quartetto Adorno
Airis String Quartet
Akela Quartet
Akhtamar Quartet
Quatuor Akilone
Alinde Quartett
Amai Quartet
Animato Quartet
Antarja Quartet

Atenea Quartet
Belinfante Quartet
Chaos String Quartet Desguin Kwartet
Quartetto Eos
Erinys Quartet
Fabrik Quartet
Quartet Gerhard
Quartetto Goldberg
Cuarteto Iberia

Quartetto Indaco
Kandinsky Quartet
Karski Quartet
Kleio Quartet
Malion Quartett
Medea String Quartet
String Quartet Meraki Quatuor Mirages
Quatuor Mona
Moser String Quartet 

Nerida Quartet
New Cretan Quartet Protean Quartet
PuraCorda Ensemble Skazka Kwartet
Sonoro Quartet
Viride Kwartet
Quatuor Wassily

What is Merita? 

MERITA – where chamber Music, cultural hERI tage and TAlent meet is an online and offline platform that increases the visibility and circulation of emerging European string quartets by innovating and improving the sustainability of the music industry increasing access and participation in cultural activities promoting European cultural heritage strengthening connections between local and European culture, and between online and offline engagement.

Winner of the Creative Europe – European Platforms 2021 and co-funded by the European Union, the project’s development lasts 3 years and is run by 17 cultural institutions from 12 European countries. It involves 38 string quartets for a total of 152 artists.

Through the digital platform, MERITA will showcase artists, present cultural sites and historic houses, educational materials, networking and content for the public, panel of online and on-site activities, i.e. trainings, artistic residencies, transnational and international circulation of young artists, studies and research.

The platform also allows new audiences to be brought closer to classical music and places of historical interest. It aims to become a reference point for (young) chamber musicians and practitioners, forming the basis for a new and lasting business model.


MERITA’s visual identity has been defined thanks to the support of more than 200 people who expressed their preference

A dynamic typographic solution that highlights the reach of the project in the three areas of activity:
Music – cultural h ERItage – TA lent

Elements: acronym 
Keywords: flexibility, expansion

The three elements (M-ERI-TA) in the work-mark are designed to expand over photos or colored backgrounds by sliding to top-left, bottom and right edges.

organizations from 12 european countries
string quartets, 152 musicians
european historic houses
cultural sites in the “7 Most Endangered” Programme of Europa Nostra

Who we are

The consortium is represented by Le Dimore del Quartetto, based in Italy, as lead and coordinator of 17 organizations from 12 European countries:

Comitato AMUR, Milan (Italy)

European Historic Houses, Bruxelles (Belgium)

EuAbout Lab ASBL – European Association for Research, Educational, Cultural and Social Innovation, Bruxelles (Belgium)

ProQuartet – Centre européen de musique de chambre, Paris (France)

Theocharakis Foundation, Athens (Greece)

Stichting Strijkkwartet Biënnale Amsterdam, Amsterdam (Netherlands)

Europa Nostra, The Hague (Netherlands)

Traces&Dreams AB, Stockholm (Sweden)

Lofoten Internasjonale Kammermusikkfest, Oslo (Norway)

University of Arts of Tirana (Albania)

QEndra Event, Tirana (Albania)

Julian Cochran Foundation, Warsaw (Poland)

Beogradska Umetnička Nova Teritorija (Belgrade Artistic New Territory), Belgrado (Serbia)

Kolarac – Zadužbina Ilije M. Kolarca, Belgrade (Serbia)

Cadenza Arts Management Ltd., Budapest (Hungary)

Experimenta – Associação para a Promoção do Design e Cultura de Projecto, Lisbon (Portugal)

Get in touch

    Thank you for voting!

    Want to know more about MERITA? Add your e-mail address below to stay informed.